Taking Chances


Back in 2013 I visited Seoul, Korea during Thanksgiving Break and of course, it was pretty cold. I had gone with my mom, my aunt, my cousin, and my grandparents. We had booked a tour with our tour guide and he had picked us up that morning. We didn’t know where we were going and when we got to the bottom of this hill, we had to take a cable car up to a drop-off area. The scenery was very beautiful, but there was nothing just the wilderness. My mom, my aunt, and the elders said it was too cold and that they’d remain at this drop area, while my tour guide continued leading me and my cousin up. We were actually very hesitant to go up for we thought there was nothing just the wilderness. We considered heading back down, but then we were like whatever, let’s just go. Fortunately we decided to go up, because I mean we had gone all the way up to that hill and it was only a few additional hundred steps in the cold (*sarcasm). So we ended up trekking all the way up and when I got there, I was literally mesmerized. It was the most romantic thing I had ever seen, because I knew all of those locks represented a couple, all of those locks represented love, and all of those locks represented joy. As I walked around, I could feel the lovey-dovey atmosphere; all I saw were happy couples expressing their love for each other. This place was filled with love, joy, and holiday spirits. There was nothing else, no worries, no stress, and no responsibilities just love in the air.

Looking over the early morning’s horizon, I was happy I had rode that cable car, I was happy that I had walked up all of those steps, and I was happy that I had taken that chance. To this day I still remember the feeling of when I reached the top of the tower and saw all of those locks of love.

Leave a Reply

