Coming To A Close

img_1041-2

I took this picture on my last day in France and well, it was a sad day for me. We hiked up to the top of Sacre Coeur and as I looked out, I saw the fog cloud the city. We went into the church and paid our respects. I joked around with my friend saying, ” I pray that we never have to leave France, because I don’t want to go home”. I knew I had to return home to fulfill my responsibilities and that I couldn’t just abandon my current life at home. I just didn’t want to go home, I didn’t want to leave this carefree life. Neither did my friend. We were both so love struck with this city, yet so frustrated and confused at the same time. As we finally began to walk out to leave church, it started pouring. We were stranded on the steps for 5 minutes.

As we left the steps and maneuvered into a small little neighborhood, a thought came to my mind: all good things must come to an end, just like even the most beautiful flowers have to wilt. I didn’t want to leave this place, because I had such an amazing time, but of course, I have a life back at home that must be carried out and responsibilities that must be fulfilled. The most enlightening part for me was when I realized that I didn’t want to go home, because I truly had a good time.

When we returned back to the church after our little trek, the sky had cleared up and the city was crystal clear.

It’s like when the city was covered in clouds, I was confused and my mind was entangled. But when I finally figured myself out and came to a firm conclusion, the sky cleared up and the sun rose again.

Leave a Reply

